What is a municipality?


A municipality is an administrative entity of local government composed of a clearly defined area and its population.  It is commonly known as a city, borough, township, town or village.  A municipality is incorporated to be self-governing under the laws of New Jersey.  A municipality is typically governed by a mayor and a council, committee, commission or board of trustees.  There are currently 566 municipalities in New Jersey.

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.